Trevor Lizotte was recognized as this year’s HyLife (Foods) Volunteer of the Year recipient at the Christmas banquet in Neepawa at the end of this past year. This is HyLife’s 12th year handing out the annual award to an individual who inspires the spirit of volunteerism in others.

“I was very humbled to be recognized for the Volunteer of the Year award and being associated with the amazing individuals that have received the award in the past,” said Lizotte who is HyLife’s VP of Domestic Sales. “The fact is I love our community here in Neepawa and enjoy and feel it’s important to be involved in the community.”

Lizotte has served on various boards over the past seven years, but most of his time has been spent at the rink and on the ball diamond coaching kids.

“To me, nothing is more rewarding than leading a group of kids in team sports where they have the opportunity to learn life skills, improve on current skills, be physically active, and create friendships that last a lifetime,” added Lizotte.

He currently coaches two hockey teams, two local minor baseball teams and consistently volunteers with the Neepawa Natives; selling 50/50 at every game and helping with the team’s annual year-end banquet and sportsman dinner.

“HyLife’s core value is being a community partner, and we realize that without communities there is no HyLife,” said HyLife’s Senior Director of Human Resources Jeremy Janzen. “By creating and giving out the Volunteer of the Year award we have the opportunity to hold up the winners as inspiration to all of us to give back to our communities.”

Congratulations to Trevor Lizotte (Foods) and Elroy Peters (Farms) on being this year’s recipients. HyLife gave both individuals $1000 to donate to their charity of choice. Lizotte requested that the $1000 be given to Neepawa Minor Hockey.

Past Volunteer of the Year Recipients
2017: Amanda Peters & Neepawa Dancing Ladies
2016: Ernie Froese & Wanda Rainka
2015: Kevin Cook & Jacque Laroche
2014: Edwin Sonsona & Darian Major
2013: Janet Priest & Rex Toledo
2012: Adolf Doerksen & Ronald Santos
2011: Darren Bouchard
2010: Ron St. Hilaire & Douglas Wilkinson
2009: Kyle Vogt
2008: Paul Beauchamp
2007: Carol Martens
2006: Gil Balcaen