Elroy Peters – HyLife (Farms) Volunteer of the Year

Elroy Peters was recognized as this year’s HyLife (Farms) Volunteer of the Year recipient at the Christmas banquet in Friedensfeld this past weekend. This is HyLife’s 12th year handing out the annual award to an individual who inspires the spirit of volunteerism in others.

“I’m very honored and very surprised,” said Elroy Peters who’s been a HyLife employee for four and half years and is currently Operations Manager in the Feed Division. “I was honored to have been nominated, never mind actually receiving the award. HyLife does so many amazing things in the communities that they have a presence in, so to receive this type of award from this type of company makes it extra special.”

Peters currently serves as the Vice Chair on the Steinbach Community Outreach Board of Directors. Some of his duties with the organization is helping provide income tax support for participants of the program along with organizing food donations and housing options.

He also continues to serve in various committees in his church and with his wife who is on the Steinbach Family Resource Center’s board of directors. In the past, Peters has served on his church’s refugee committee and has helped coach various sports teams.

“HyLife’s core value is being a community partner, and we realize that without communities there is no HyLife,” said HyLife’s Senior Director of Human Resources Jeremy Janzen. “By creating and giving out the Volunteer of the Year award we have the opportunity to hold up the winners as inspiration to all of us to give back to our communities.”

Congratulations to Elroy Peters (Farms) and Trevor Lizotte (Foods) on being this year’s recipient. We will feature Trevor in an upcoming post. HyLife gave both individuals $1000 to donate to their charity of choice. Peters choose to donate it to the Steinbach Community Outreach.

Past Volunteer of the Year Recipients
2017: Amanda Peters & Neepawa Dancing Ladies
2016: Ernie Froese & Wanda Rainka
2015: Kevin Cook & Jacque Laroche
2014: Edwin Sonsona & Darian Major
2013: Janet Priest & Rex Toledo
2012: Adolf Doerksen & Ronald Santos
2011: Darren Bouchard
2010: Ron St. Hilaire & Douglas Wilkinson
2009: Kyle Vogt
2008: Paul Beauchamp
2007: Carol Martens
2006: Gil Balcaen

*Picture Above – HyLife President Claude Vielfaure (left)  presenting the award to Elroy Peters (right)